Archives

Be Good – Help Japan!

I know, I’m a bad girl – it’s been so long since I’ve updated!  The weather has been a lot nicer and we have been doing a lot of fun things lately, so I’ve been so busy and happy I have forgotten all about updating!  I promise I’ll be good and write more often (or have Mama write these for me since paws make it really hard to type).

First though, I want to talk about something serious.  I haven’t been a whole lot of places, but I understand that way far away from here is a place called Japan.  Apparently, some really terrible things happened over there, and a lot of humans and animals are suffering over there.  It makes me sad to know that so many people (two-legged and four-legged) are having such a hard time.  I know what it is like to be homeless and hurting and scared – but these people and animals are dealing with so much more than that (to say the least!), so it can be really overwhelming to know where to start to help.  If you can, please consider donating to an organization that can help the victims of the awful events in Japan:

The American Red Cross is always a trusted name in helping victims of disasters (or so Mama tells me).  Mama also found this page describing how to help Japan’s pets and people, but she is not really familiar with the charities listed and how ethical they might be, so take that into consideration.

Did you know that the Japanese word for dog is inu?  Mama showed me this video from Japan of an inu protecting his friend who got hurt even worse than he did.  The people talking at first don’t realize what he is doing and at first think that the dog lying down is dead, but then they see him move and say how glad they are.  I am even more glad to find out that since this video was shown, the dogs in the video have gotten vet care.

I will come back soon to write about my own adventures, but I thought it was important to try to help others and “pay it forward,” as they say.

Leave a Reply

