Archives

Meet Piper

I love to meet new people, so I’m really excited you’re here!  Let me tell you a little about my background.

I didn’t have a happy life for a long time, so I don’t like to tell a whole lot of the details.  For a long time I lived in a puppy mill, which is a place where the owners worry more about producing the most puppies than about caring for the animals (grown-up dogs and puppies alike).  When I was old enough, I had some babies that were taken away from me – but not before the people there gave my babies more food than they gave to me.  The people who kept me left me in dirty conditions, and I got very sick from it.

Somehow I found a way to escape – but things weren’t much better: I was scared and, for the first time, all alone.  A group called the Animal Service League found me and brought me to their shelter.  They gave me a surgery so I won’t have any more babies.  They did some tests that I guess they give all the dogs there to see if they’d make good pets.  One of those tests involved giving me food and then taking it away.  Well, I had been hungry for a long time, so when they took it away I got really mad and snapped at them!  They thought that meant I was a mean dog, so they were going to “put me down.”  I didn’t know what that meant, but I knew I was afraid.

Lucky for me, a group called the Buffalo Pug and Small Breed Rescue heard about me from the shelter, and they took me in.  I had a really nice foster mommy who had a few other dogs in the house with her, and they were all welcoming to me (except when we fought over treats, but that was nothing!).  But I still wasn’t out of the woods yet.  After being kept in an unkempt cage for ages, I had infections in both eyes, filth grained deep into my fur, and ulcerated foot pads, which made it very painful for me to walk.  My foster mommy was very patient with all my health issues – she even put little baby booties filled with medicine onto my paws because they were bleeding  (I didn’t really like them at the time, but I felt better later so I guess it was OK).

This is what I looked like when I first got rescued.  I know, not my finest.

I remember the day after my foster mommy picked me up, she brought me to a little room where she let me curl up in a bed and rest while I recovered from my surgery (she called it “spaying”).  At some point, a man and a woman came in saying they had heard about the Rescue and were interested in seeing available dogs.  My foster mommy introduced me to them.  I was still kind of out of it from surgery, but they seemed really nice, so I got out of bed so I could sniff them to be sure.  They did smell like nice people, but I was tired so I lay down again.

I didn’t know it, but those nice people would eventually become my forever parents!  Once my health was where it should be (I hadn’t felt so good in years!), my foster mommy got me groomed and took some more pictures of me.  I cleaned up real nice, if I do say so myself! 

Then one Friday in July, she took me for a ride (yay!) and brought me to a townhouse – and there were those people again!  I was so excited I ran all over the place, sniffing the corners and jumping on furniture.  They even had a little bed set up in the corner like they knew I could stay.  I sniffed them some more, and my foster mommy had them sign some paperwork – but then she left me.  She was the first person who’d been really kind to me, so I was scared to be left behind, even if these new people did smell nice.  But it didn’t take long for me to settle in and realize that this was my forever home, and my new People would love me no matter what.

Here I am on my first night home, snuggled up and ready for sweet dreams:

I lead a pretty simple life, but I hope you people will be interested in what I have to say about Mama, Daddy, things I do, and Life in general.

P.S. If you want to read what the Rescue had to say about me, click here!

Leave a Reply

